About Government

About Government-> Governor


Name Prof Jagdish Mukhi Jagdish Mukhi
Address Raj Bhavan, Aizawl
Mizoram 796001
email : governor-mz[a]gov[dot]in
Phone Number 0389-2322262/2323200
Fax No. 0389-2323344


Prof Jagdish Mukhi was born on 1 December 1942 in Dajal, Dera Gazi Khan, to a Punjabi Hindu family. At age 4, during the partition of India, the family moved to Sohna.

Mukhi gained a B.Com from Raj Rishi College college in Alwar, Rajasthan in 1965, followed by a M. Com from the university of Delhi in 1967.Until entering politics he was a professor at Shaheed Bhagat Singh College, Delhi University, but before that he was an IPS officer and resigned after training. He was awarded a PHD in Finance from Kurukshetra University in October 1995.

He married Prem Grover in 1970, who as Prem Mukhi is actively involved in social development works for women empowerment under the banner of Mahila Jagriti Sangh. He is blessed with a son Atul (BE, MBA) and a daughter Latika.

Political career
Mukhi attended an RSS training camp while at school in Panipat in 1958, became the secretary (Karyawaha) of Alwar District RSS in 1964, and campaigned against the Emergency with the Delhi RSS in 1975. Having moved to Janakpuri, Delhi in 1973, he became the General Secretary of the Janakpuri branch of the nascent Janata Party in September 1977.

His first election success was in a 1980 by-election for the advisory Delhi Metropolitan Council.

He held the role of Minister of Higher Education, when he launched Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University in the record time of 8 months.

He was awarded as best planning minister of the nation by the then Union planning minister Pranab Mukherjee. Two times he was awarded with best MLA award in Delhi Vidhan Sabha. He represented Janak Puri constituency continuously from 1980 and has won seven continuous Vidhan Sabha elections from the same constituency, until losing the 2014 election by 25000 votes to AAP leader Mr. Rajesh Rishi. He has worked at all levels in the BJP & given the best performance as President, BJP Mandal Janak Puri; General Secretary, BJP West District; President, BJP West District; General Secretary, BJP Delhi; Prabhari, BJP affairs Jammu & Kashmir; Prabhari BJP affairs Haryana.

His performance was best appreciated in Loksabha & Vidhan sabha elections of Haryana where BJP has got results to the best ever performance and first time in Haryana BJP chief minister without any support has taken the oath.

He became Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands in August 2016, then Governor of Assam in September 2017.

He took the Oath of Office of the Governor of Mizoram on 9 March 2019

Former Governor/Lt Governor

Sl No Name Designation From To
24 Prof Jagdish Mukhi Governor 9th March 2019  
23  Kummanam Rajasekharan Governor 25th May 2018 8th March 2019
22 Lt. Gen. Nirbhay Sharma Governor 26th May 2015  24th May 2018
21  Shri Keshari Nath Tripathi Governor 4th Apr 2015  25th May 2015
20 Dr. Aziz Qureshi Governor 9th Jan 2015 28th Mar 2015
19 Dr. Krishant Kant Paul Governor 16th Sep 2014 8th Jan 2015
18 Shri Vinod Kumar Duggal Governor  8th Aug 2014 28th Aug 2014
17 Shrimati Kamla Beniwal Governor 9th Jul 2014 6th Aug 2014
16 Shri Vakkom Purushothaman Governor  2nd Sep 2011 9th Jul 2014
15 Lt. Gen. (Rtd) M.M. Lakhera Governor 25th Jul 2006 1st Sep 2011
14 Shri Amolak Rattan Kohli Governor 18th May 2001  24th Jul 2006
13 Ved Prakash Marwah Governor 1st Dec 2000 17th May 2001 (Additional Charge)
12 Shri Anandam Padmanaban Governor 2nd May 1998 30th Nov 2000
11 Shri Dr. Arun Prasad Mukherjee Governor  29th Jan 1998 1st May 1998
10 Shri P.R Kyndiah Governor 10th Feb 1993 13th Jan 1998
9 Shri Swaraj Kaushal Governor  8th Feb 1990 9th Feb 1993
8 Capt W.A. Sangma Governor 21st Jul 1989 7th Feb 1990
7 Shri H. Saikia Governor 20th Feb 1987 0th Apr 1989
6 Shri H. Saikia Lt Governor 11th Dec 1986 20th Feb 1987
5 Shri SH Dubey Lt Governor 11th Dec 1986 20th Feb 1987
4 Shri S.N. Kohli Lt Governor 16th Apr 1981 9th Aug 1983
3 Shri N.P. Mathur Lt Governor 27th Sep 1977 15th Apr 1981
2 Shri S.K. Chhibbar Lt Governor 13th Jun 1974  26th Sep 1977
1 Shri S.P. Mukherjee Lt Governor 24th Apr 1972 12th Jun 1974


Ministry of Communication & Information Technology
National Informatics Centre, Mizoram State Centre
Annex-II, Civil Secretariat, Aizawl - 796001